10 clauses of ISO 22000 review on Edara Systems blog

What are the 10 clauses of ISO 22000?


Implementing ISO 22000 recommendations helps organisations minimise food risks and improve their food safety performance by building an effective Food Safety Management System (FSMS). By implementing a compliant FSMS, you can enjoy benefits such as improved health and safety, improved customer satisfaction, compliance with various regulatory requirements, reduced investigation times, improved response to risk, and enhanced transparency. In this article, we will talk about the 10 clauses of ISO 22000.

Clause 1: Scope

The prime purpose of a food safety management system is to ensure that the food is safe for consumption. The 2018 version of the standard asks food producers to set out the scope statement by understanding the purpose of the standard and its core requirements. The scope statement asks for standards to identify any internal or external issues that can hamper its ability to deliver safe food, the requirements of all interested parties, and the specification of its product or service.

If you need to find more information about ISO 22000, read the “What is ISO 22000?” article on the Edara Systems website. 

ISO 22000:2018 checklist

Clause 2: Normative references

The purpose of this clause is to give organisations a list of reference documents in such a manner that it makes it indispensable for the future and helps in the easier implementation of the FSMS. By providing a list of reference documents, this clause helps managers better understand the standard.

Clause 3: Terms and definitions

This clause contains a list of references, terms, and definitions that will be utilised throughout the standard. The purpose is to provide clarity so that the FSMS can be easily implemented in a particular organisation. In the electronic version of the standard, the definitions of the terms are hyperlinked. This interrelationship increases the usability of the standard.

Clause 4: Context of the organisation

This clause out of 10 clauses of ISO 22000, requires the organisation to analyse its context, determine its interested parties, define the scope of the FSMS and have a clear focus on the processes so that its food safety objectives can be achieved. This clause is sequential, and in order to understand the context of the organisation, organisations must first:

  • Understand the organisation and its context (clause 4.1)
  • Identify interested parties and understand their needs or expectations (clause 4.2)
  • Understand the outputs of 4.1 and 4.2 to determine the scope
  • Design the FSMS

Understanding this clause will allow organisations to identify any external or internal issues that would hamper their ability to deliver safe food products and ISO 22000 requirements easier.

 clauses of FSSC 22000

Clause 5: Leadership

This section of the standard states that the top management in the organisation should demonstrate appropriate leadership and commitment with respect to the FSMS. It also helps organisations to determine who the top management is by describing top management as a group of people or an individual who directs the control of the organisation at the highest level. Commitment can be demonstrated by establishing the food safety policy and providing sufficient resources.

Clause 6: Planning

To answer the “Which clause within ISO 22000 focuses on planning?” question, you can refer to clause number 6 as the answer. Planning is one of the core components of any effective management system. This standard section sets out a framework that can help organisations analyse themselves, determine risks, and identify opportunities. The section also provides recommendations on how to address the identified risks. The action plan, as per the recommendations of this clause, should include the steps that will be taken in case of a risk, what resources will be needed to mitigate the risk, the identity of the person responsible for the action plan, an approximate time-frame and a mechanism to measure the results.

Clause 7: Support

This section focuses on the resources, awareness, competence, communication, and documentation of an FSMS. Competence includes the capability of individuals to fulfill tasks based on the defined job roles. Communication here refers to internal and external communication channels that will support the running of an FSMS. Documentation includes documenting the food safety policy, FSMS, communication channels, traceability, and emergency preparedness plans.

Clause 8: Operation

This section outlines the Pre-Requisite Programmes (PRP) that are appropriate to the context, size, and activity of the organisation. Additionally, ISO 22000 also contains the principles of Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP). Therefore, this clause helps organisations show that the inputs from hazard analysis are updated, PRPs are implemented and updated, hazard levels are identified at acceptable levels, and every procedure is working as planned. If someone ever asked you “Which clause within ISO 22000 focuses on hazard control?”, you can refer to clause number 8 as the answer.

ISO 22000:2018 clauses list

Clause 9: Performance evaluation

This section focuses on process monitoring and measurement that should be conducted through internal ISO 22000 Audits and management reviews. The ISO 22000:2018 standard includes new elements which must be considered during management review meetings, such as changes in the context, information on the performance and effectiveness of the FSMS, adequacy of the resources, and opportunities for continual growth.

Clause 10: Improvement

This section focuses on your organisation’s capability to determine and implement opportunities for improvement and to comply with the intended purpose of the product. Hence, organisations are expected to create plans for nonconformities by reviewing the non-conformity, determining its causes, and implementing actions. If you need more information about the ISO 22000 certification process, you can ask Edara Systems consultants.

Count on our help to get the ISO 22000 certificate

The 10 clauses of ISO 22000:2018 are scope, normative references, terms and definitions, the context of the organisation, leadership, planning, support, operation, performance evaluation, and improvement. By meeting the ISO 22000 requirements and Edara Systems consultants’ guides, you can get ISO certification with no effort as soon as possible.

Users Comments

Get a Quote